Advisory Board

Robert S. Langer, Jr., ScD, Chairman

Robert  S.  Langer,   Jr.,  Sc.D.,  Chairman,  is  David  H.  Koch  Institute  Professor  at  MIT. Dr. Langer is the former Chairman of the FDA Science Board, the FDA's highest advisory board. He has authored more than 1,100 scientific papers. He has approximately 800 issued and pending patents worldwide licensed or sublicensed to over 200 pharmaceutical, chemical, biotechnology, and medical device companies. Dr. Langer has received approximately 200 major awards, including the 2012 National Medal of Technology, the 2006 National Medal of Science, and the 2002 Charles Stark Draper Prize.

Jack E. Ansell, MD
Jack E. Ansell, MD is the former Michael S. Bruno, MD, Chairman of Medicine at Lenox Hill Hospital and current Professor of Medicine at New York University School of Medicine. Dr. Ansell is a clinical investigator with a principal focus on the clinical problems of thrombosis, antithrombotic therapy, and the application of new modes of delivering and monitoring anticoagulants. He has authored more than 200 publications and has been the lead author for over 10 years of the major authoritative consensus guidelines for antithrombotic therapy through the American College of Chest Physicians. He is a Master of the American College of Physicians. Dr. Ansell received his medical degree from the University of Virginia and completed his medical residency at Tufts New England Medical Center followed by a fellowship in Hematology at Boston University.
Henry Brem, MD
Henry Brem, MD is Neurosurgeon-in-Chief, the Harvey Cushing Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery, and Professor of Neurosurgery, Oncology, Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Brem has developed new clinical treatments for brain tumors, including the delivery of chemotherapy directly to the brain through the Gliadel wafer, anti-angiogenesis therapies, computer navigation systems used during surgery and brain tumor vaccines. Dr. Brem graduated from Harvard Medical School with honors and trained in neurosurgery at Columbia University, followed by a fellowship in neurosurgery and ophthalmology at Johns Hopkins. In 1998, Dr. Brem was elected to the U.S. National Academies' Institute of Medicine.
Lutz Heinemann, PhD
Lutz Heinemann, PhD is co-founder of Profil Institute for Metabolic Research in Neuss, Germany and led the Institute as CEO for 10 years until 2009. Prior to that, Dr. Heinemann spent 17 years performing diabetes-related clinical and experimental research at the Department of Metabolic Diseases and Nutrition at Heinrich-Heine University of Düsseldorf in Germany. Dr. Heinemann has published more than 220 scientific papers and is author of the book “Time-Action Profiles of Insulin Preparations.” He is the recipient of the award “Leadership in Diabetes Technology” from the Diabetes Technology Society in 2007 and the "Artificial Pancreas Research Award" by the same society in 2012. He is a member of the editorial board of a number of diabetes-related journals and is the Managing Editor of the Journal of Diabetes Science and Technology. Dr. Heinemann received his PhD from the Heinrich-Heine University of Düsseldorf, Germany.
Bruce Lerman, MD

Bruce Lerman, MD is the H. Altschul Master Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Cardiology and Director of the Electrophysiology Laboratory at Weill-Cornell and  the New York Presbyterian Hospital. He received his medical degree from Loyola University - Stritch School of Medicine, was an intern and medical resident at Northwestern University and completed his cardiology fellowship at Johns Hopkins.  He trained in cardiac electrophysiology at the University of Pennsylvania. 

He has authored over 200 original publications, 75 book chapters and 2 books. He is a recipient of the Established Investigator Award from the American Heart Association and had received multiple grants from the NIH. He is currently on the editorial boards of Circulation, Heart Rhythm, Journal of Cardiac Electrophysiology, Pacing  and Clinical Electrophysology and the Journal of Innovations in Cardiac Rhythm Management. He is a member of the  the exam writing committee of the American Board of Internal Medicine for the Cardiac Electrophysiology Board Examination. Dr. Lerman served as the 2005 Chairman of the Annual Scientific Session of the American College of Cardiology (ACC) and has served on numerous committees for the American Heart Association, ACC and Heart Rhythm Society.

His research contributions include elucidating the myriad electrophsyiologic mechanisms of  the nucleoside adenosine, which contributed to its FDA approval as a potent antiarrhythmic drug, pioneering  the concept of current-based defibrillation and determining the role of mechanoelectrical feedback as a stimulus for triggering malignant ventricular arrhythmias. His current work focuses on the the cellular and molecular mechanisms of ventricular outflow tract tachycardia. His laboratory has identified critical somatic mutations in the cAMP signal transduction cascade that mediate this  form of ventricular tachycardia, thus introducing a new paradigm for the causation of ventricular tachycardia. His work has been published in leading journnals, including Nature Genetics, Journal of Clinical Investigation, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Circulation, Circulation Reseasch and The New England Journal of Medicine. He has been issued 4 patents.

He clinical concentration focuses on the diagnosis and treatment (ablation) of complex atial and ventricular arrhythmias, as well as on the treatment of life-threatening arrhythmias with implantable devices. He has served on the Scientific Advisory Boards of Biosense-Cordis Webster, Boston Scientific, Zoll Medical Corporation and Cardiovascular Therapeutics. For the last 15 years, he’s been named in New York Magazine- Best Doctors,  Castle Connolly – America’s Top Doctors, US News and World Report (Best Doctors) and the New York Times (Super Doctors).

Edith Mathiowitz, PhD
Edith Mathiowitz, PhD, Perosphere Founder & Consultant, is a Professor of Medical Science and Engineering, and the Director of the Biotechnology graduate program in Brown's Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology. She was the editor of The Encyclopedia of Controlled Drug Delivery Systems (1999) and serves as an editorial board member for five journals. To date, Professor Mathiowitz has authored 100 publications, 40 patents, and one book; her work has been published in 95 conference proceedings and abstracts. Before joining Brown University, Dr. Mathiowitz worked at Enzytech Co., Ltd. (now Alkermes, Inc.) and was one of the developers of the Prolease® drug delivery technology. Dr. Mathiowitz received a PhD in Polymer Chemistry from the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel and completed her post-doctoral fellowship in drug delivery with Dr. Robert Langer at MIT.